+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Wednesday, May 22, 2024

CEO releases final electoral roll of TN

CEO releases final electoral roll of TN

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Satyabrata Sahoo released the integrated final electoral roll of special summary revision of photo electoral roll, 2023 on Thursday in Chennai. According to the electoral roll, the total number of electorates in Tamil Nadu is 6,20,41,179 with 3,04,89,866 male voters, 3,15,43,286 female voters and 8,027 transgender voters. Of the total voters, women outnumbered men. Number of voters between 18 and 19 years of age is 4,66,374.

“Shozhinganallur assembly constituency has the highest number of voters with 6,66295 voters and it is followed by Kavundampalayam constituency with 4,57,408 voters. Harbour constituency has the lowest number of voters with 1,70,125 voters,” said Sahoo.
Pointing out that there are 3,310 overseas voters, he said that they could cast their votes with their passports.

Explaining that poll officers had visited the houses of differently-abled people during the state election that took place amid covid-19 pandemic, he said that a similar arrangement would be made in the future as well. There are 4,48,138 differently-abled voters.

The commission had received applications to make changes in the electoral list from November 11 to December 8. Shaoo said, they received about 10,54,566 applications to include names and of which, 10,17,141 names – 4,70,291 men, 5,46,225 women and 625 transgender – were included and of 8,43,007 applications that they received to remove their names from the list, as many as 8,02,136 names were deleted. He said they made changes in 2,15,308 names.

The final electoral roll which is in PDF format, was made available on and voters could check their details by visiting the site, he said, adding that if required, voters could apply for changes as it is a continuous process and people could apply for inclusion in the voters list upon completion of 17 years of age. 
They could submit applications by visiting or through voters helpline app.

When asked about the by-election to the Erode east constituency now becoming vacant following the demise of its MLA Thirumagan Evera, Sahoo said, the constituency would send a notice declaring the constituency vacant and as per the ECI norms, election would be held within six months after the vacancy.