+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Thursday, June 20, 2024

EVKS Elangovan takes charge as Erode East MLA

EVKS Elangovan takes charge as Erode East MLA

Congress MLA-elect EVKS Elangovan assumed charge as MLA in the presence of Chief Minister MK Stalin on Friday. The oath of office was administered by assembly speaker M Appavu at the secretariat in Chennai. 
He took the oath in the presence of the Chief Minister and alliance party leaders.

 After 38 years, he is going to attend the assembly sessions. Including him, the number of Congress MLAs in the assembly has increased to 18. Leaders including KS Alagiri, Thirumavalavan, Mutharasan, Balakrishnan, Jawaharullah were present at the ceremony. Following the demise of Congress MLA Thirumagan Eevera, the election commission scheduled a by-election for Erode East constituency on February 27. 

About 1.70 lakh voters casted their votes on the day of election and the votes were counted on March 2. Congress candidate Elangovan had won the seat by a margin of 66,233 votes. Election officer Sivakumar handed over the victory certificate to Elangovan.