+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Monday, May 20, 2024

Muthamizharasan bags Scientist GD Naidu Award

Muthamizharasan bags Scientist GD Naidu Award

Makkal Sinthanai Peravai presented this year's 'Scientist GD Naidu Award' with Rs 1 lakh cash prize to assistant professor of Hyderabad University Dr Muthamizharasan for his research  in plant protection measures at the ongoing Erode Book Festival.

He,  born on Dec 2, 1986 at Cheranmadevi, Thirunelveli, is the eldest son of Meganathan-Muthuselvi, belonging to farmers family. He studied up-to plus 2 in Sivanthi Matric HSS, Biotechnology in UG in 2007 and PG in 2009 in Sri Kaleeswari College, Sivakasi. 

Later, he succeeded in the qualifying exam of CSIR-UGC and underwent research in the National Institute of Plant Genome Research, New Delhi, in 2012-16. His research was related to improve the minor millets. At that time he got US  Fulbright-Nehru Doctoral Research Fellowships and pursued genetic research in paddy and cotton plants in an University at Louisiana, the US. 

 He, then, got doctorate in biotechnology in the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, in 2016 and INSPIRE Faculty Fellowship of the Department of Science and Technology of the Central Government. Then,  he served as  DST INSPIRE researcher in the ICAR's National Institute of Plant Biotechnology till 2019. 
His genetic studies on minor millets are more useful to farmers and his research studies came as 70 articles. Due to his research, he got Indian National Academy of Sciences' Young Scientist Award (2018), National Academy of Sciences' Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award (2018), USIEF's Fulbright Outstanding Alumni Award (2019), Indo- Australia Career-Boosting Vocational Fellowship (2017).
Since 2020, he was working as assistant professor at the Central University of Hyderabad, Telangana and was helping rural school and college students in Tamil Nadu to pursue  research activities by holding awareness programmes. 

His book on 'ways and methods to pursue science studies for school students' was released by the Indian National Science Academy in 2019. The book in English was well received by students, academicians and policymakers. ISRO former chairman Dr K Sivan presented the award in the presence of Peravai president T Stalin Gunasekaran, Singapore Musthafa Thamizh Trust president MA Mohammad Musthafa and film director Bharathi Krishnakumar.