+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Rotarian Dr.Krishnananda Memorial Trophy

Rotarian Dr.Krishnananda Memorial Trophy

Inter-State South Indian Level Para Volleyball and Throwball Tournament was organized by Rotary Club of Coimbatore Downtown in association with Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute, Indian Paralympic Volleyball Association and Para Throwball Federation of India in memory of late Rotary member Rtn. Dr.Krishnananda.

The matches were held on Sunday at the Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya Indoor Stadium, Coimbatore. Rotary Club of Coimbatore Downtown project Chairman Rotarian Godwin Maria Visvasam said, 'For the past four years these competitions were being held at the district level in Coimbatore but this time the competitions were held between states.'

The tournament was inaugurated by lawyer Rtn AKS N. Sundaravadivelu. The Guest of Honor was PCI Chairman and Arjuna Awardee Mr. M. Mahadeva. Earlier, President  N. J. Sundaresan flagged off the Memorial torch. 

Para Volleyball Men Tamilnadu team won 1st prize, Andhra Pradesh  2nd prize and Puducherry 3rd prize.  Best Player award won by Santhosh Kumar of Tamilnadu Team.
In women's throwball competition,  Karnataka team won 1st prize, Andhra Pradesh 2nd prize and Tamilnadu team won 3rd  prize. Best Player award won by B. Geetha of Karnataka Team.

The prizes were presented by Rotarian AKS N. Sundaravadivelu. Rotary Club of Downtown President NJ Sundaresan, Secretary Kumaran Treasurer Vignesh, Project Leader Godwin Maria Visvasam and Dr. Giridharan were present.