+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Monday, May 20, 2024

TN forms State Wildlife Board headed by CM

TN forms State Wildlife Board headed by CM

The 28-member State Wildlife Board is headed by Chief Minister MK Stalin.The State Wildlife Board has been constituted under the chairmanship of Chief Minister MK Stalin to protect the wildlife in Tamil Nadu. 

Minister of Forests K. Ramachandran has been appointed as its Deputy Chairman. The board also has 3 MLAs, 3 members from charitable organisations, 8 environmental experts and 14 government officials.Accordingly, MLAs Kambam MLA N.Rama krishnan. Sankarapuram MLA D Udhayasooriyan, Palani MLA IP Senthilkumar, Pratim Roy of the Key Stone Trust in Nilgiris,  

K.Kalidasan of the Coimbatore Osai organisation and CP Rajkumar of Nalam Hospital, Theni were appointed in the board.

Fourteen members have been appointed in the public sector, including the Chief Secretary, the Chennai Zonal Army Officer, Forest and Veterinary Officers. The Chief Wildlife Conservator of the Forest Department will act as the Member Secretary of this Board.

The members of the Board will advise the Government on the formulation of policies on wildlife conservation and will work with the public and tribals living in the forest areas, including on wildlife conservation.