+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Monday, June 24, 2024

Unprecedented  consecutive clean sweep in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry

Unprecedented consecutive clean sweep in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry

All 40 constituencies in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry have been won by the India Alliance comprising parties including DMK and Congress.
DMK has won 22 constituencies including Namakkal, where the Kongu Makkal Desiya Katchi  candidate contested under DMK’s rising sun symbol, and Congress has won 10 constituencies including Puducherry.
In the 2004 Lok Sabha elections, the DMK-led alliance won all 40 seats. In the last 2019 election, it won 39 other constituencies except Theni. Now DMK alliance has won all the constituencies in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.
This is seen as a significant political achievement in Tamil Nadu politics by political analysts. According to them, in the history of Tamil Nadu elections in the past, no party that won the entire number of seats retained the same number of seats in the next election. This means that the party which does a ``clean sweep'' never wins the next election. Karunanidhi, MGR, Anna, Jayalalithaa, none of the Congress leaders have achieved this feat.
But now under Stalin, DMK won 39 seats combined in Tamil Nadu & Puducherry last time . It has won 40 seats this time. With this, he has achieved the feat of clean sweep consequtively which no one has done so far say political obervers who also comment that this kind of victory reflects the DMK government work for the people has been rewared.
The unprecidented scale of victory will no doubt cast a light showing the pathway for India.