+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Tuesday, July 16, 2024

All India Basketball Tournament from May 29

All India Basketball Tournament from May 29

Coimbatore District Basketball Association has been successfully conducting the All India Basketball Tournament for Men for the past 54 years and for Women for the past 18 years. 

This year, the tournaments are scheduled from May 29 to June 3. Ten leading teams of the country have been selected for the 9 Men's tournament and they include New Delhi - Indian Railways, New Delhi - Indian Airforce, Lonavala - Indian Navy, Trivandrum – Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB), Bengaluru - Bank of Baroda, Chennai - Sports Hostel of Excellence, Chennai - TNBA TRW, Trivandram – Kerala Police & Coimbatore – Coimbatore District Basketball Association (CDBA).

For the Women's tournament,  8 teams selected are Kolkata - Eastern Railways, Hubli – South Western  Railways, Secunderabad - South Central Railways, Mumbai - Central Railways, Tiruvandrum - Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB), Trivandrum - Kerala Police, Chennai – Rising Star & Coimbatore – Coimbatore District Basketball Association (CDBA).

The winning teams in Men &Women section will be awarded cash prize as follows: Winner Rs.1,00,000 & Nachimuthu Gounder Cup. Winner Rs.50,000 & C.R.I. Pumps Trophy. Runners Rs.50,000 & Dr.N.Mahalingam Trophy.                            

Runners Rs. 25,000 & Trophy.

Second Winner Rs.20,000.      Second Winner Rs.15,000.  

Second Runner Rs. 15,000.     Second Runner Rs. 10,000.

Renuka Ramanathan Memorial Fair play    Best Promising player award -Team Award

The teams will play on league basis till 1st June 2022. The Semi-Finals & Finals will be held on June 2 and 3 respectively. All the matches will be conducted at V.O.C. Park Basket Ball Court from 6.00 pm to 9.00 pm. Entry is Free.

The inaugural function is scheduled on 29th May 2022 at 6.00 pm. The Chief Guest of the function Mrs. Kalpana Anandakumar, Hon. Mayor, Coimbatore Corporation and Mr. R. Vetriselvan, Hon. Deputy Mayor, Coimbatore Corporation. Guest of Honour is Dr. David V Rajan, Chairman & Managing Director of Ortho One. Mr. G. Selvaraj, President, CDBA & Joint Managing Director, C.R.I. Group will preside over the inaugural function. The valedictory function is scheduled on 3rd June 2022 at 8.00 pm.