+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Collector inspects vote counting centre

Collector inspects vote counting centre

The Nilgiris District Electoral Officer and District Collector M. Aruna inspected the works to be carried out at Udagai Government Polytechnic College, which is the center of vote counting in the LS poll.

Later, the Collector said: Polling for Parliamentary General Election-2024 will be held on 19.04.2024 by Election Commission of India.  Nominations will start from 20.03.2024 and the counting of votes will be held on 04.06.2024. 

Accordingly, the EVM votes cast in 6 Assembly constituencies under the Nilgiri Parliamentary Constituency, Bhavanisagar (107), Uthagamandalam (108), Gudalur (109), Coonoor (110), Mettupalayam (111), Avinasi (112), will be kept safe at the Udakai Government Polytechnic College and counting will be done.

 In view of this, a study on the security work and basic facilities to be carried out in the counting center was carried out. Also, a field survey was carried out in the counting center, including the electronic voting machine storage room and the counting room, the area where the agents go. 

Further, a study was also carried out on the basic facilities to be established in the counting center. Necessary basic works will be arranged in this center soon. 

District SP Mr. Sundaravadivel, Additional Collector (Development) Mr. Kaushik Assistant Returning Officer and RDO Mr. Maharaj, Public Works Executive Engineer Mr. Ramesh and many government officials were present.