+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Sunday, June 23, 2024

Dr. K.C.G. Verghese Excellence Awards 2023 recognize 32 global achievements

Dr. K.C.G. Verghese Excellence Awards 2023 recognize 32 global achievements

The 4th edition of the Dr. K. C. G. Verghese Excellence Awards 2023 was held at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, in honor of the late Dr. K.C.G. Verghese, a visionary leader who emphasized the importance of making every man a success and no man a failure. The event was presided over by Chairman HGI, Dr.Anand Jacob Verghese, and featured dignitaries such as Dr. Elizabeth Verghese, Dr. Ashok Verghese, Dr. Susan Verghese, Dr. Annie Jacob, and Dr.Aby Sam. The event was attended by prominent Indian journalists and directors of the Hindu Group Publishing Private Limited.


Dr. K.C.G. Verghese was a visionary leader who advocated for the de-licensing of industrial production, initiated the Open Sky policy, and privatized engineering education in Tamil Nadu. He was a staunch patriot and philanthropist, commemorating his vision. The awards were presented in eight categories, including Life Time Achievement, Academic Excellence, Research Excellence, Corporate Excellence, Community Development, Youth Icon, Sports Excellence, and Outstanding Alumni.


Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented by Mr. N. Ram, director of the Hindu Group Publishing Private Limited, to various individuals for their outstanding contributions to the field of education. Academic Excellence Awards were given to Prof. Rajeev Ahuja, Director of the Indian Institute of Technology Ropar (IITR), Dr.BhaskarRamamurthi, Dr.ShuChuan Liao, Professor of Asia University, and Prof. P. B. Sharma, Vice Chancellor of Amity University. Research Excellence Awards were given to Dr. G. Balu, OS & Scientist ‘H’ (Retired), DRDO Distinguished Fellow & Chairman of the Aerodynamics Panel of AR & DB, Dr. G. A. Ramadass, Director of NIOT, and Dr. A.S. Venkatesh, International Director of Asia Area Rotary International.


Youth Icon Awards were given to Ms.UtharaUnniKrishnan, Indian playback singer, Prasiddhi Singh, Social Entrepreneur and Environmental Activist, and Dr.Prisha, Youngest Yoga Guru. Sports Excellence Awards were given to Ms.Anitha Paul Dorai, former Captain of the National Women’s Basketball Team, and Mr.RajasekarPachai, Tamil Nadu’s second Mt. Everest Climber.