+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Election staff cast postal votes

Election staff cast postal votes

Election staff cast postal votes in Erode district on Sunday. Collector Rajagopal Sunkara and Erode Corporation Commissioner Sivakrishnamurthy inspected it in the RANM College.

The Lok Sabha polls will be held on April 19. 10,970 polling officers have been appointed to work in 2,222 polling stations in 8 assembly constituencies in Erode district. Four Phase training is given to them on procedures to be followed on the day of vote registration, how to use electronic voting machines, control devices and VVPAT to know who has registered their vote.

The first phase of training was held on March 24 at one place in each of the 8 Legislative Assembly constituencies. The second phase of training was held on Sunday. In this, the setting up of model polling station, and nature of work for the polling station primary officers, first level, 2nd level, 3rd level and 4th level officials were explained. Defects in installation of machinery and remedies are explained.

District Collector Rajagopal Sunkara inspected the training for Erode East segment held at RANM College, Erode. Corporation Commissioner V. Sivakrishnamurthy among others participated. Those who participated in this training session were given ballot papers and forms for postal voting.

For Erode East and Erode West constituencies, 4 ballot boxes were placed in 3 rooms and tokens were issued for registering postal votes. The officials registered their votes. This vote recording was video recorded.

Since Erode, Tirupur and Nilgiri Lok Sabha constituencies are coming in Erode district, 3 separate boxes were placed to register the votes for the three constituencies and the 4th box was placed for registering the voters of other Lok Sabha constituencies. Officials said that these boxes will be delivered to the respective constituencies before the election.