+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Monday, May 27, 2024

EVMs kept in strong room

EVMs kept in strong room

EC observer Mr. Manjit Singh Bharar and District Electoral Officer and District Collector Mrs. M.Aruna inspected the process of keeping EVMs, used in the Nilgiris LS seat, in the strong room of Government Polytechnic College,  Ooty, in the presence of recognized political party leaders.

 Later, the District Collector told reporters: Elections were held peacefully in the Nilgiris district on April 19. The EVMs were belonging to assembly constituencies namely Udagai, Coonoor, Gudalur and Mettupalayam, Bhavanisagar and Avinasi.

 The Nilgiris district recorded a voter turnout of around 70.93 percent. The District Election Officer and District Collector said that the votes will be counted and the results will be announced on 04.06.2024.

District Superintendent of Police Mr. Sundaravadivelu, Additional Collector (Development) Mr. Kaushik, Assistant Election Officers and RDOs Mr. Maharaj (Udakai), Mr. Sathees (Coonoor), Mr. Senthilkumar (Gudalur), Mr. Gunasekaran (Mettupalayam), district officials and many others were present.