+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Monday, June 24, 2024

National motorcycle racing championship begins tomorrow

National motorcycle racing championship begins tomorrow

The Kari motor speedway would be hosting the Rolon round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian national motorcycle racing championship 2023 that would commence on Friday.
With a card of 16 races besides practice, the qualifying sessions spread over three days. The event has attracted about 150 entries.
Four national championship categories - pro-stock 301-400cc open and 165cc open, novice (stock 165cc, under-23) and girls (stock 165cc) – while Petronas TVS one-make championship (301-400cc open, rookie, women and media) and Idemitsu Honda India talent cup (NSF 250R) – would take place in the weekend. Just like the previous season, there will be one support race in the stock 301- 400cc category.
The grid for the novice category attracted 29 riders on the day of the first day. The promoters, Madras Motor Sports Club, closed the entries at 35 on a first-come-first-served basis. 
The number will be pruned to 30 for the rolon round as per the maximum race grid permissible at Kari motor speedway circuit. 

The rookie category in the Petronas TVS one-make championship has only teenagers, the oldest being 17-year-old CS Kedarnadh from Tirupati, while 13-year-old Nithila Das from Bengaluru is participating in the women’s class.

MMSC president Ajit Thomas said, “This season would commence with the rolon round at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore this weekend, with a sense of anticipation and excitement. It is a highly positive sign for two-wheeler racing that we have some 150 entries and counting, and the number seems to be growing every year. 

We are grateful to the riders for their participation besides manufacturers, TVS, Honda, Yamaha and KTM, for supporting the championship, and thank our title sponsors MRF Tyres for their continued involvement by making available special two-wheeler racing tyres.” 
As usual, the two premium pro-stock categories – 301- 400cc open and 165cc open – would headline the proceedings. The two grids boast of the country’s best riders and top two-wheeler manufacturers such as TVS, Honda, Yamaha and KTM.