+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Thursday, May 23, 2024

Nilgiris constituency has 1619 booths

Nilgiris constituency has 1619 booths

The Nilgiris District Collector Mrs. M. Aruna inspected the process of sending EVMs from Udagai BRICS High School to Polling Centers in Udagai Assembly constituency. 

Later she told reporters: There are 1,619 polling centers in the 6 assembly constituencies of the Nilgiris Parliamentary Constituency.

Three assembly segments in the district have 689 polling stations. Of these, 106 polling centers have been found to be sensitive and teams of micro-observers and videographers have been sent there. Steps have been taken to transport voting machines and election related materials to the polling centers through 178 zonal committees. About 3,391 polling officers have been engaged in the election work in today's election. As there are more forest areas and hamlets in the district, steps have been taken to transport EVMs and election related materials to the polling stations adjacent to the forest area with the help of forest department vehicles. Also, basic facilities including food, lodging facilities have been arranged for all those involved in the election work. Further, all the facilities including drinking water, ramps, wheelchairs, toilets have been provided in all the polling centers for all the voters, including the differently abled, to cast their votes without any difficulty. If the voters in forest areas have requested vehicle facility to go to the polling stations and cast their vote, steps have been taken to provide vehicle facility to them. She handed over the election papers to the polling officers working at the polling stations. Assistant Electoral Officers and Revenue Commissioners Mr. Maharaj (Udagai), Mr. Satish (Coonoor) and others were present.