+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Speaker accepts notice for no-confidence motion against govt

Speaker accepts notice for no-confidence motion against govt

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla on Wednesday accepted the notice for no-confidence motion that was submitted by Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi against the Narendra Modi government. He also said that time would be allocated for discussion.


As the opposition parties have been demanding a statement from the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the Manipur violence and continuing their protests, the House proceedings have been disrupted for the four consecutive days.


To force the Prime Minister to make a statement on the issue, opposition parties that were part of the INDIA alliance had come up with a decision to move the no-confidence motion against the union government. The decision was taken after several opposition leaders including Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge wrote to union minister Amit Shah seeking their cooperation to discuss the issue in the Parliament.


Congress’s Lok Sabha deputy and Assam MP Gaurav Gogoi submitted the notice to move a no-confidence motion against the government at 9:20 am on Wednesday after the House was convened. Bharat Rashtra Samithi MP Nageswara Rao also submitted a notice to the Speaker.


Opposition parties that were part of the INDIA alliance have assured to extend their support to the no-confidence motion moved by Gogoi. Since the ruling BJP has 332 seats in the House, the motion would fail the number test and it does not disrupt the government.


The monsoon Parliament session which commenced on July 20, had not functioned without interruption even for a day and the proceedings could be continued only for 13 more days. On Wednesday, as the proceedings were adjourned amid the protests by opposition parties and when it resumed again, the Speaker announced that he had accepted the motion and would allocate separate time for discussion.


When the discussion on the Manipur issue commenced, opposition members demanded the presence of the Prime Minister and turned chaotic. Subsequently, the proceedings were adjourned till 2 pm.


Earlier, MPs paid their tribute to martyrs of Kargil war on the 24th anniversary of Kargil Vijay Diwas.