+91 98940 - 95096

Today Date : Saturday, May 18, 2024

TV Malai Collector inspects prep work ahead of elections

TV Malai Collector inspects prep work ahead of elections

District Electoral Officer and Tiruvannamalai Collector D Bhaskara Pandian recently oversaw the preparations for the upcoming elections at the Tiruvannamalai District Collector's office.

Scheduled for April 19, the parliamentary election in Tiruvannamalai district prompted meticulous planning. The "First Randomization" of electronic voting machines for the Thiruvannamalai and Arani parliamentary constituencies took place on March 25th, witnessed by representatives from all authorised political parties. These machines were subsequently dispatched to all 8 assembly constituencies under tight security.

The "Second Randomization" occurred at the district collector’s office to allocate the voting machines to the polling centres on the day before the election. Through computer software, specific voting machines were assigned to each polling station (1760 for Arani Parliamentary Constituency and 1722 for Tiruvannamalai Parliamentary Constituency), overseen by General Supervisors of Elections.

Following the "second randomization," the ballot papers for insertion into the electronic voting machines across relevant legislative constituencies were dispatched from the district treasury under secure measures. The task of fitting the ballots and uploading the symbols into the electronic voting machines commenced, aided by Assistant Electoral Officers and Bell Company Engineers.

The District Collector personally inspected the process of affixing symbols and candidate names in the voting machines, supervised by Zonal Officers at the Tiruvannamalai District Collector's Office. Additionally, the installation of names and symbols of candidates in electronic voting machines across several constituencies, including Kilpennathur, Kalasapakkam, and Polur, was scrutinised.

During these inspections, Tiruvannamalai Revenue Commissioner Manthakini, Tiruvannamalai District Commissioner Thiagarajan, along with various Tahsildars and Assistant Returning Officers, were present. Representatives from all recognised political parties also attended the event, ensuring transparency and accountability in the electoral process.